5 Stages of Huntington’s Disease

Medical Author: Dr. Jasmine Shaikh, MD

Medical Reviewer: Pallavi Suyog Uttekar, MD Medically Reviewed on 7/22/2022

Privacy & Trust Info

5 Stages of Huntington’s Disease Huntington's disease (HD) is a complex disorder that affects a person's ability to feel, think, and move. Symptoms tend to worsen over time and the disease often runs in families. Huntington’s disease (HD) is a hereditary, progressive brain disorder characterized by uncontrolled movements, mental instability, and loss of thinking ability. There is no cure for HD and no way to stop it from worsening. It is an autosomal dominant disease, which means that if one parent has the disease, there is a 50% chance that the child will have it. The disease goes on to progresses over several years and can be divided into five stages.

  • Stage 1: Preclinical stage

  • Stage 2: Early stage

  • Stage 3: Middle stage

  • Stage 4: Late stage

  • Stage 5: End-of-life stage

1 view0 comments